User roles control what actions a user can take and what they can see in your organization or workspace. There are 5 user roles each with different permissions at an organization and workspace level:

Organization

  • Organization Owner
  • Organization Admin
  • Organization User

Workspace

  • Workspace Admin
  • Workspace User

Organization Owner

When you create a new organization, you assume the owner role for that organization. Ownership of an organization cannot be switched to another user role. 

The Owner role cannot be removed from this organization by an Admin or User role.

Permissions

  • View and manage all Organization and Billing settings.
  • Give or remove user access to any or all workspaces within the organization. 
  • Access to all workspaces in the organization.
  • View, edit, trash any and all collections, pages, variants, templates, files, and edit workspace settings.

Organization Admin

The Organization Admin role can be assigned and removed by the Organization Owner. 

Organization Admins cannot assume the Organization Owner role.

Permissions

  • View and manage all Organization and Billing settings.
  • Give or remove user access to any or all workspaces within the organization. 
  • Access to all workspaces in the organization.
  • Transfer pages from one workspace to another.
  • View, edit, trash any and all collections, pages, variants, templates, files, and edit workspace settings.

Organization User

The Organization User role can be assigned and removed by the Organization Owner and Admin. 

Organization Users cannot give or remove user access to any or all workspaces within the organization. They also cannot view or manage all Organization and Billing settings.

Permissions

  • Access to all workspaces in the organization. 
  • View, edit, trash any and all collections, pages, variants, templates, files, and edit workspace settings.

Workspace Admin

The Workspace Admin role can be assigned and removed by any Organization user and another Workspace Admin.

Workspace Admins do not have access to all workspaces in the organization.

Permissions

  • Access the workspace(s) to which they have been added. 
  • Give or remove Workspace Admin and Workspace User access to the specific workspace in the organization.
  • View, edit, trash any and all collections, pages, variants, templates, files, and edit workspace settings for the respective workspace.

Workspace User

The Workspace User role can be assigned and removed by any Organization user and Workspace Admins. 

Workspace Users do not have access to all workspaces in the organization. They cannot edit workspace settings, nor assign or remove other user roles. 

Permissions

  • Access the workspace(s) to which they have been added. 
  • View, edit, trash any and all collections, pages, variants, templates, files, and edit workspace settings for the respective workspace.
Did this answer your question?